IAS courses

The Indian Administrative Service is the administrative civil service of the Government of India. IAS officers hold key positions in the Union Government, State governments and public-sector undertakings.

Along with the police and forest services, the IAS is one of the three All India Services—its cadre can be employed both by the union government and the states. IAS officers are recruited by the Union government on the recommendation of the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) and posted under various State governments.

The examination for getting into IAS is conducted by the UPSC. It has three stages (preliminary, mains and interview) and is considered to be extremely challenging. Entry into the IAS is considered very difficult. Almost all of the applicants rank IAS as their top choice because of the high prestige and diversity of career it offers.

Examination Pattern & Eligibility for IAS

The Indian Civil Services examination is conducted by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) every year. The examination schedule is announced during January - February after which the selection is done in 3 stages. Candidates are filtered at every stage through a process of elimination.

1. The Preliminary Examination will consist of two papers of objective type (multiple choice questions) and carry a maximum of 400 marks. Preliminary Examination
2. The Main Examination will consist of 9 papers in total comprising of conventional essay type questions. Main Examination
3. QUANTITATIVE APPTITUDEThe interview will carry 275 marks.Marks thus obtained by the candidates would determine their final ranking. Interview

The Candidates applying for the examination should ensure that they fulfill all the eligibility conditions for admission into the examination.

1. Citizen of India
Subject of Nepal
Citizen of Bhutan
Tibetan Refugee
Person of Indian origin migrated from Pak,Burma,Sri Lanka
2. Must attain 21 years and must not attain age of 30 years Age Limit
3. The candidate must hold a degree of any of Universities incorporated by an Act of the Central or State Legislature in India or other educational institutions established by an Act of Parliament or declared to be deemed as a University Minimum qualifications
4. Every candidate appearing at the examination who is otherwise eligible, shall be permitted four attempts at the examination. No. of Attempts
5. Candidates must be physically fit according to physical standards for admission to Civil Services Examination of a particular year as per guidelines given in Rules for Examination published in the Gazette of India Extraordinary during the year of examination. Physical Standadrs