University Grants Commission courses

The University Grants Commission (UGC) of India is a statutory organisation set up by the Union government in 1956, charged with coordination, determination and maintenance of standards of university education.

It provides recognition to universities in India, and disburses funds to such recognized universities and colleges. Prof. Ved Prakash, a noted academician and education administrator, is the incumbent Chairman of UGC, India.
Its headquarters are in New Delhi, and six regional centres in Pune, Bhopal, Kolkata, Hyderabad, Guwahati and Bangalore.

Examination Pattern & Eligibility for UGC

The University Grants Commission National Eligibility Test (UGC-NET) has recently opted for a different pattern from July 2012 onwards. Now, all three papers of this exam will be of objective type. PAPER TYPE No of que max marks
1. Paper-I Objective type. 60 100
1. Paper-II Objective type. 50 100
1. Paper-III Descriptive type 75 150

The Candidates applying for the examination should ensure that they fulfill all the eligibility conditions for admission into the examination.

Candidates who have secured at least 55% marks (without rounding off) in Master's Degree.
The Ph.D. degree holders whose Master's level examination had been completed by 19th September, 1991.
Candidates are advised to appear in the subject of their post-graduation only.